Skip to content.
Background Banner
Mark Bebbington

English Music Weekend Concert 1: Mark Bebbington at Great Barn, Hellens

On Elsewhere
Event has passed.
Company: Hellensmusic
Duration: 120 minutes

Running time includes a 20-25 minute interval. This event will take place at the Great Barn, Hellens. Weekend ticket for all 3 concerts – £42 – this is applied automatically when tickets for all 3 concerts are in your basket.

Three concerts showcasing the works of English composers with Mark Bebbington (piano), Coull Quartet, Peter Cigleris (clarinet) and Richard Jenkinson (cello). This weekend of concerts brings together music from some of England’s finest composers of the last 150 years together with a much-acclaimed work by celebrated present-day composer Ian Venables and the premiere of an intriguing work by Derek Smith. Internationally acknowledged as a champion of British music in particular, Mark Bebbington has been singled out as a pianist of rare refinement and maturity. The Coull Quartet, has been at the forefront of British musical life for over forty years. Peter Cigleris, a rising name in the clarinet world who has performed widely across the UK and Europe, is notably recognised for his affinity with English music. Richard Jenkinson is widely acknowledged to be one of Britain’s finest cellists.

Hellensmusic and Espressivo welcome pianist Mark Bebbington to the Great Barn for a solo concert of classical music. This is the opening concert of their English Music Weekend – a series of 3 concerts over one weekend (17 – 19 September 2021) celebrating the works of 20th century and contemporary English composers. This series invites leading soloists and chamber musicians (Mark Bebbington, Coull Quartet, Peter Cigleris, Richard Jenkinson) who have championed this repertoire over their distinguished careers, to share their love of it with local audiences, in various chamber music combinations.

Alwyn Sonata all Toccata
Leighton Sonatina No 2
Vaughan Williams The Lake in the Mountains
Matthew-Walker Piano Sonata No 3 ‘Hamlet’, A Bad Night in Los Angeles
Delius On Hearing the First Cuckoo in Spring (Piano Duet with Irene Loh) Three Piano Preludes
Ireland Sarnia: An Island Sequence

In partnership with Espressivo

£16/Free for students in full time education.

Add to Favourites