Kodaly Quartet at Hellens.

Runs for: 120 minutes.
Event runs on 2/12/2017.

Haydn String Quartet in C Op 76 No 3 (‘Emperor’)
Dohnányi String Quartet No 2 in D flat Op 15
Beethoven String Quartet in C Op 59 No 3 (‘Razumovsky’)

One of the world’s great string quartets comes to Hellens with a most enticing programme which reflects both their long association with Haydn and Beethoven and their championing of the music of their homeland. The concert opens with Haydn’s famous ‘Emperor’ Quartet, containing the theme that was much later to provide Germany with its national anthem, and finishes with the last of Beethoven’s three ground-breaking quartets commissioned by the Russian music patron Count Razumovsky. Between these two works will be heard one of the outstanding late Romantic quartets, composed in 1906 by the Hungarian composer Ernő Dohnányi.

Showing date: 2/12/2017
Showing time: 16:00

Pricing for 2/12/2017 at 16:00: £18, Students £9 (complimentary mince pies during interval)