Mark Bebbington – Piano Recital at Hellens.

Event runs on 8/10/2017.


Scarlatti Sonatas in D major (L14) and B minor (L33)
Schubert Sonata in A major D664
John Ireland Sarnia: An Island Sequence
Derek Smith Sonatine (première)
Debussy La Cathédrale engloutie (from Preludes Book I)
Debussy Feux d’artifice (from Preludes Book II)
Chopin Nocturne in B flat minor Op 9 No 1
Chopin Ballade No 1 in G minor Op 23

In this recital by the internationally acclaimed pianist Mark Bebbington, one of Schubert’s most relaxed and most loved piano works is prefaced by two short sonatas by the prolific and richly inventive Baroque composer Domenico Scarlatti. The first half ends with John Ireland’s impressionistic Sarnia (the Roman name for Guernsey), which atmospherically evokes, in turn, a Neolithic site on the island, a morning in May and a spring tide. After the interval, an intriguing new work by the highly respected Malvern composer Derek Smith is followed by two of Debussy’s famous preludes, the first taking its inspiration from a Breton tale in which a submerged cathedral rises from the sea and sinks back into the depths, the second representing a display of fireworks. Chopin’s utterly gentle B flat minor nocturne leads into his beautiful and emotionally charged Ballade No 1, one of the hallmarks of the entire piano repertoire and a fitting end to any recital.

Tickets (unallocated seating): £15 (students half-price). Wheelchair access available at venue.

NB: There will be a 20 minute interval with drinks available to purchase

Showing date: 8/10/2017
Showing time: 15:00

Pricing for 8/10/2017 at 15:00: £15, Students £7.50